The Provost’s Open SUNY Advisory Committee

A Message from Chairperson Dr. Kenneth P. O’Brien

Ken O'Brien


Welcome to the Provost’s Open SUNY Advisory Committee’s webpage, where you will find our charge from the SUNY Provost’s Office, roster of membership, and meeting materials, including Minutes of past meetings and Agenda for the upcoming meeting.

Part of our task is to make certain that the most current information about Open SUNY reaches as many of you across the system as possible, and for that reason, we will be including a section of what might be called “Interesting Pieces,” articles and commentary from both the SUNY community and beyond, as well as “Open SUNY  News.”

We recognize the importance of this initiative and the need to engage you and your campus community in the critical discussions that will inform and guide the development of Open SUNY in the months and years ahead.

Again, the most sincere welcome to our webpage, one that I hope you will re-visit often.





The charge to the Committee is broad and ranges from providing guidance on processes and opportunities for time-variable degree programs to advising on the appropriate governance structures for Open SUNY.  The Committee will make recommendations to guide student and faculty support services as well as the development of consortial frameworks to improve student experiences in Open SUNY.  Members have been asked to think beyond their home campus to the broader constituency they have been designated to represent.


•        June 30, 2013 – Group formed
•        July 30, 2013 – First meeting of lead group and agreement on goals
•        July 2013 – June 2014 – Ongoing meetings
•        April 30, 2014 – Assessment of initiative and function of the team


Interesting Pieces



·         Cole Camplese, Vice President for Information Technology and CIO, Stony Brook University
·         Susan Deer, Vice President of Student Affairs, Rockland Community College
·         Martie Dixon, Assistant Academic Dean, Distance Learning and Alternate Programs, Erie Community College
·         Christy Fogal, Associate Professor, Mathematics, Monroe Community College
·         Kathleen Gradel, Professor, College of Education, Department of Language, SUNY Fredonia
·         Karin Hilgersom, President, SUNY Sullivan
·         Lenore Horowitz, Professor, Department of Informatics, University at Albany
·         Mark McBride, Director of Library Services, Monroe Community College
·         Lori Mould, President, SUNY Student Assembly, SUNY Trustee
·         Alfred Ntoko, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Empire State College
·         Ken O’Brien, Provost’s Fellow, Associate Professor of History, SUNY Brockport (Chair)
·         James Pitarresi, Distinguished Teaching Professor and Assistant Provost, Executive Director,
Center for Learning and Teaching, Binghamton University
·         Anita Bleffert-Schmidt, Chair, Business and Professional Studies, Ulster County Community College
·         Nina Tamrowski, Professor and Chair, Social Sciences, Onondaga Community College, Vice President,
Faculty Council of Community Colleges
·         Candace Vancko, President, SUNY Delhi
·         Ed Warzala, Associate Professor, Mentor, Empire State College